Whether for religious, health, or moral motivations, it is important to learn vegetarian recipes that will make you forget that meat is missing
One of the main tenants of a Kosher lifestyle is to not prepare or consume meat with dairy or eggs. From this restriction, Kosher cooking thus manifested a lot of vegetarian options. It is very important to prepare a meal for a vegetarian or someone observing a Kosher lifestyle without just turning to a simple salad. Allowing vegetables to be the star of the plate is easy and make following a Kosher diet a breeze.
FOR GLORIA PERSONALLY
My daughter became a strict vegetarian at 18. Jessica doesn’t eat fish or meat but she does eat eggs, dairy products and honey. I try to prepare food for her that looks similar to what we’re eating and has many of the same flavor elements. Often, I prepare a vegetarian sauce that I can use both on chicken/meat and on tofu or seitan. There are many veggie products available in most supermarkets and others that can be found in health food stores. Worcestershire sauce, for example, is made with anchovies. Jessica won’t eat it because of the fish and many observant Jews won’t cook meat with it because they won’t mix fish and meat. There is a veggie Worcestershire sauce that is “fish free” that does the trick. Marshmallows have the same problem. Many marshmallows are made with fish gelatin so my daughter won’t eat them because she’s a vegetarian and my grandson can’t eat them because he is allergic. There are marshmallows made with gelatin that comes from beef bones but is considered pareve by the Rabbis due to the chemical process that changes the ingredients. Jessica is not comfortable with those. Veggie marshmallows are available that are a little pricey. I either order the veggie marshmallows or make them myself.